my little saviour

Todays going to be a bit of a different one, I’m going to share with you my little saviour.

When I first started to feel low I became a bit of a recluse, all I did was go to work come home and go to bed. I had no motivation I just wanted to be on my own. I pushed everyone away, I never wanted to leave the house or meet friends. I would just lie in bed and sleep. It was honestly the darkest moments in my life.

Until one day after work I got home before my boyfriend and when he pulled up outside our house he was carrying a cardboard box. I remember thinking “what the hell has he bought now”. When he came to the door he pushed the door bell as he always forgets his house keys and when I opened the door he just looked at me and smiled, then this little fluffy black and white with brown markings head popped out the cardboard box.

image2 image5 zach1

We had spoken about maybe getting a dog in the future but he thought that getting a puppy would give me something to focus on. To love and care for, we have a cat but he is all mr independent until its cuddle time. This little guy was going to need a lot more attention. I had never had a dog before, back when I was a kid my dad was a big NO when it came to pets. I was lucky to have a goldfish and hamsters and that was about it. Once my dad left my mum and I got a cat but I never imagined I would one day have a dog. But there he was all small and fluffy. His name is Zachary and he is a border collie and he probably saved my life.image3 My bond with Zach started when he was just eight weeks old. My lovely better half went away the first weekend we got him on a boys biking trip, if it wasn’t for my friends who grew up with dogs and had one of their own I would have been lost. I remember that weekend so clearly, I stayed up as long as I could and I woke super early checking he was okay. I would stand in the garden with him for ages trying to teach him outside was for pee and poops. I played with him and tried to teach him how to sit. That weekend he never left my side and he still doesn’t. He knows when I’m low or poorly he will sleep by my side. I’m so grateful for the boyfriends impulse buy, I am fully aware that a dog is for life but I know my life wouldn’t be the same without him. He has saved me from my darkest days, he is my little saviour.

33

JustBreathe

xXx

2 thoughts on “my little saviour

  1. This is a beautiful post. I’m struggling right now because my dog is 14 years old and very sadly dying of cancer…. This post put a big smile on my face. There is nothing more unconditional or special than the love for your dog! He’s gorgeous by the way!xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

